Roving, roving, roving, Don’t hide…

Breaks are the times when we, conference addicts, come together over a cup of coffee and reflect on the sessions we attend or on our own  teaching. This time, being one of theroving reporters, I interviewed some participants and the people I spoke were very eager to share and very happy to be at the conference.

Alis Dadıroglu

How would you describe yourself as a teacher?

  • As a teacher I have limited time to develop myself but I’m trying to develop and improve my teaching skills.

Why do you attend conferences?

  • As I mention before, time is limited and these conferences are great chances to keep up with what’s going on, especially in the world of technology.

What else do you do for professional development, apart from attending conferences?

  • I read blogs, I follow some blogs, attend online seminars, conversations and chats

Do you think social media affected your teaching?

  • Absolutely yes. It changed a lot.

 Are you for or against technology?

  • I’m for but sometimes it makes me crazy. It takes a lot of time and we have to deal with lots of things at the same time but I’m happy.

Didem Yeşil

   How would you describe yourself as a teacher?

  • I‘d describe myself as an innovative teacher. I’m open to new things. I do a lot of research, I read a lot of things, and I try new things.

Why do you attend conferences?

  • Conferences are a good way to learn. It is a good way to keep up with the developments in ELT world.

What else do you do for professional development, apart from attending conferences?

  • I believe that social network is a great tool, to learn for my professional development, I follow many great educators on twitter, I read blogs; attend seminars and conferences and lots of other things.

Do you think social media affected your teaching?

  • As I said before it affects me in a very positive way. I see it as an opportunity to learn because there are a lot of great people in the education world and I think there’s a lot to learn from them and having a network on the internet is a great opportunity for teachers.

Rukiye Uçar

   How would you describe yourself as a teacher?

  • As a new teacher I’m very enthusiastic teacher. I want to improve myself. I follow blogs, ELT conferences, read articles.

Why do you attend conferences?

  • Because it is a very different atmosphere, being with all the English teachers feel good.

What else do you do for professional development, apart from attending conferences?

  • I’m planning to take CELTA, then DELTA

Do you think social media affected your teaching?

  • I’m not a twitter user but I use facebook.  Do you know Evridiki Dakos? I follow her news and posts. I believe social media will affect my teaching as all the students are internet users we as well should be good internet users we have to keep up with all the technological developments and should update ourselves.

 Culya Yapıcı

   How would you describe yourself as a teacher?

  • As a teacher I’m eager to learn. I want to build connections with my students. And I want to improve myself all the time, that’s all.

Why do you attend conferences?

  • To learn new ideas, to get new ideas, to refresh myself, to be always in education.

What else do you do for professional development, apart from attending conferences?

  • I attend to conferences; I read blogs and follow the books. I don’t tweet but I just follow people on twitter and facebook.

Why do you use technology in your lessons?

Students feel more eager if you’re using technology in your lessons. To get students’ attention more it’s useful and makes your lessons livelier.

PS  I caught my inner voice singing ‘Rawhide’ while roving, roving, roving.

Eva Buyuksimkesyan for the roving reporter team.

Leave a Reply

